Marvels

As you move through your day do you regularly recognize remarkable things… things that should be remarked about… and do you remark?

I’ve started remarking about what I see and giving credit for marvels. Some wise person once said that if everything is a miracle then nothing is a miracle, but I’ve learned that many, many things can be recognized as marvelous. And, if we are able to recognize the marvelous, doesn’t that open us to realize what is truly the moment of miracle? We learn easily that there are those who cannot recognize a miracle or can refuse to admit it, so I think we need to be attentive to marvels. Just like doubt is a cousin to wonder and shouldn’t be dismissed as never being a feeling of the faithful (consider John the Baptist in prison), being able to credit the marvelous as that strengthens our souls to approach the miraculous with honesty.
iStock_000000927120Large04082012_1813
Crediting marvels then is saying to God or to those around us that something has caught our attention and touched or even filled any sensitivity in us with appreciation or even inspiration. It is being complimentary to strangers regarding something delightful about them. It is admiring some aspect of character in a friend. It is stopping to consider the sunrise and the gradually assured power of light and then admitting it to our own souls, and the one who listens to our souls.

The most complimentary man I’ve ever met was named John. And when I first experienced the wide-ranging consistency of his compliments I thought it was silly. It was simple, even embarrassing and I couldn’t imagine why he did it, other than to make people bend to his will. Then, after I was around him for a bit I realized it was honest. When I saw where the energy of his life was applied I realized that it was more than a tool to get people to respond pleasantly but insight into truth that brought freedom to others. And, as I experienced the joyful, relaxed community that developed around him in life, I fell into wonder and a desire to imitate him.

So, I keep my eyes and my soul open and attentive.

Pastor Geoff
First Presbyterian, Lancaster

One response to “Marvels

  1. Pastor Geoff reveals the marvel of God’s love for us in his the veritas of his witness.

Leave a comment